Salmon in a Bag

3 May

This was a last minute post which I didn’t spend as much time on as other posts on this blog  - hence the Diet Coke can in the background ;) I didn’t anticipate the traffic this post has generated through Pinterest and I’ve received a lot of questions regarding the temperature I cooked this salmon at. Like all recipes on my blog, this was only a suggestion because it worked for me. A few people have suggested raising the temperature or cooking it longer and have shared their experiences in the comment section below.

Lay out a large piece of tin foil. Slice a lemon and lay flat on surface. Lay salmon on top of the lemons. Add butter, salt and pepper then wrap up the sides and fold tightly together, like a pouch. Place on a baking tray and cook in the oven for 30 minutes at 325° or 350° depending on how hot your oven runs.

Tilapia in a Bag is another great recipe to try if you enjoyed this method of cooking.

Cheers!

95 Responses to “Salmon in a Bag”

  1. Gina May 30, 2012 at 12:56 AM #

    Always looking for salmon ideas! Thanks!

    • janelle July 29, 2012 at 7:54 PM #

      DOES ANYONE HERE KNOW THE RECIPE FOR THIS! like what size salmon, how much butter how many lemon slices?!

      • Kim August 3, 2012 at 5:08 PM #

        Judging by the picture, I would guess the salmon is about 3oz, maybe 4oz. 6 lemon slices, 2 slices of butter, course salt, and fresh ground pepper.

  2. The Devil's Punchbowl June 1, 2012 at 10:19 PM #

    You’re very welcome!

  3. Courtney June 4, 2012 at 8:53 PM #

    What would you suggest for making this recipe with frozen salmon? 400 degrees?

    • The Devil's Punchbowl June 5, 2012 at 1:09 PM #

      My mother passed down her paranoid nature to me and told me to never, ever cook frozen meat or fish so I am the wrong person to ask ;)

    • Sarah June 13, 2012 at 1:43 AM #

      Run the frozen salmon under lukewarm water for five minutes and it will be totally thawed.

      • snwgma June 22, 2012 at 9:38 AM #

        or put it in a bowl of water for that 5 minutes and save all that precious liquid!

    • Nicole July 22, 2012 at 12:56 PM #

      You always want to defrost your salmon first.

  4. marissa June 5, 2012 at 7:26 PM #

    i want to make this tonight, but am confused. what are we wrapping the salmon in? fol?

    • The Devil's Punchbowl June 6, 2012 at 1:11 PM #

      Lay the salmon on a large piece of tin foil then pull all sides up and wrap them together, making a pouch. Hope this helps.

  5. UrbanJungleFashion June 9, 2012 at 1:41 AM #

    I would have loved to see the after pictures!

  6. Jade June 13, 2012 at 4:41 PM #

    I don’t eat butter so I threw a couple tablespoons of coconut oil on top instead (my go to butter replacement). DE-LISH.

    • Patricia Royall October 27, 2013 at 9:54 AM #

      Funny, I just went back to including coconut oil in my diet. I am making this for dinner tonight, of course sans the butter. Sounds like a winner

  7. G June 16, 2012 at 6:58 PM #

    how big a piece of salmon is it that you are using?

    • The Devil's Punchbowl June 18, 2012 at 11:12 AM #

      Not sure of the exact weight but it fed two. It could have been cut in to 2 fillets.

  8. Megan Lynn June 26, 2012 at 6:01 PM #

    I love iced coffee and I adore easy recipes! I saw yours on Pinterest and am excited to make it tonight. :)

  9. Jalese July 3, 2012 at 7:33 PM #

    I want to make this tonight! Should I keep the skin on? Thank you!

    • The Devil's Punchbowl July 9, 2012 at 11:09 AM #

      Sorry for the late reply. Yes, leave the skin on. The fish will flake off of it.

  10. Aurelia July 23, 2012 at 10:06 AM #

    This salmon must taste fantastic. This night we will have salmon vor dinner so I will try this recipe. Thanks a lot!

  11. Lauren M Smith (@lalaontherun) July 26, 2012 at 11:12 PM #

    Thank you! this was awesome. Tasted so good. Definitely going in my memory bank.

  12. Tamika July 30, 2012 at 2:57 PM #

    This looks great, and so simple. I need to try it asap!

  13. jen August 13, 2012 at 3:36 PM #

    do you put the tin foil straigh on the oven rack or do you put it on a cookie sheet

  14. Tim August 14, 2012 at 6:37 PM #

    I tried this and the salmon didn’t cook all the way. I may have had to big of a fillet or should have just cooked it a little longer. I will probably try it again though.

  15. Cassandra August 16, 2012 at 8:29 PM #

    Hmm.. I guess my piece was just too big… didn’t cook all the way through — ended up having to open the package up to book it after over 35 min in the oven.

  16. The Devil's Punchbowl August 16, 2012 at 9:27 PM #

    Sorry guys, this was a very generic, last minute post and I didn’t take into consideration how large the piece of salmon was and the efficiency of my oven opposed to other’s. When I cook white fish, I cook it at a higher heat but for some reason on the day I made this specific dish it just turned out for me!

  17. Tabby August 28, 2012 at 2:23 PM #

    Can you use tilapia instead?

  18. David September 5, 2012 at 2:53 PM #

    First of all…about to do the Salmon recipe for the second time in two weeks as it was such a hit with the family…so thanks for that!!! I wanted to ask one thing concerning the French pressed coffee. You wrote “I filled my French Press with filtered water and ground coffee”…and this may seem a stupid question but was the water hot when you poured it in with the ground coffee or did you simply use cold filtered water? Again, sorry if it seems dumb but I use my French press daily for my personal cup of coffee but that whole “over ice with cream” made me think it would be something my daughter would like…but honestly it also made me think…”over ICE CREAM” wouldn’t be bad either :).

  19. Libby September 18, 2012 at 8:34 PM #

    I never would have thought this simple recipe would be SO delicious! I served it with spinach and pasta with alfredo sauce. Thanks for the idea!

  20. Chris September 28, 2012 at 10:19 AM #

    In the beginning it says to wrap it tight and then towards the end it says make a pouch. I bringing the four sides together and twisting them until it’s tight around the salmon. Also can you recommend a side dish.

  21. Tia October 13, 2012 at 2:20 PM #

    I made this a few weeks back. I had to raise the temp just a touch for my oven. But let me tell you, it was so friggin delicious! It was tender, super flavorful and just all around great. I did add Old Bay to it before putting it in the oven. (East Coast girl) Cooking seafood scares me for some reason, but this was super easy and am making it again tonight. Thank you!

    • The Devil's Punchbowl October 15, 2012 at 9:28 AM #

      I’ve never cooked with Old Bay, been meaning to try it lately. Glad you enjoyed it!

  22. April October 15, 2012 at 8:39 AM #

    Tried this recipe. It was so good. Thank you.

    • The Devil's Punchbowl October 15, 2012 at 9:27 AM #

      You’re very welcome :)

  23. Amie October 25, 2012 at 1:41 PM #

    Yum!! My boyfriend said it was the best thing I’ve ever made him And so easy! I made a little over a pound of salmon and cooked it at 350deg for about 40 minutes since it was larger than above. Mmmmmm

  24. Carmen men October 28, 2012 at 10:16 PM #

    Delicious, put it under broiler the last 10 minutes. Thank you for recipe.

    • Leigh October 29, 2012 at 1:35 PM #

      Cooked this over a campfire, turning after first 15 minutes, then continued to cook for 10 or so more minutes. Salmon was perfectly cooked.

      • The Devil's Punchbowl October 29, 2012 at 2:10 PM #

        Thanks for sharing that. I would totally go camping if someone made this for me!

  25. J November 15, 2012 at 10:10 PM #

    I followed the picture exactly, added some capers on top and it came out amazing!

  26. Jeri Heitsenrether December 17, 2012 at 10:32 PM #

    Made this last night. Guests wanted salmon; I’m not fond of it. Baked at 350 for 30 minutes. Delicious! Easy cleanup and no stink in the house! Used Chilean salmon, was very mild. Thanks for the directions!

  27. Nicole December 30, 2012 at 12:51 AM #

    What could u use besides lemon? I hate lemon!!

  28. Sarah Troutt December 30, 2012 at 10:13 AM #

    This looks delicious. Can’t wait to try it. Is the skin removed prior to cooking?

  29. alanlugton January 4, 2013 at 8:54 AM #

    Lemon and Tin Foil react together and will taint the delicate flavors of your fish. You might want to try grease proof paper instead.

    • Leeah January 19, 2013 at 5:15 PM #

      Thanks I was wandering what that taste was

  30. MrsKHern January 4, 2013 at 10:31 PM #

    Made this tonight using lime instead of lemon…yummy but took extra time to cook which wasn’t a big deal.

  31. Em January 8, 2013 at 7:19 PM #

    How do you unpin. What I see here is an ad and a nonrecipe.

  32. Jelena January 15, 2013 at 11:28 AM #

    Hi,

    I found your recipe on Pinterest and decided to give it a try. My oven and fish definitely required a little more cooking time, but the salmon tasted delicious. You can’t beat simple ingredients and even simpler cooking! For a quick, easy dinner this was fabulous!

    I actually reviewed this one on my blog. Feel free to check it out at http://www.2girlsandapin.com/2-girls-and-a-pin-tested-salmon-baked-in-aluminum-foil/

    Thanks again for a great recipe!

    Take care,

    Jelena

  33. Leeah January 19, 2013 at 5:13 PM #

    Just tried this and my whole family loved it and it was SO easy!

  34. Valerie March 4, 2013 at 12:37 PM #

    Tried this last night- it was AMAZING! I noticed that 300 for 25 minutes was not long enough. We bumped the temp to 350 for 35-40 minutes. It was still extremely moist from the lemon & butter. Used salmon seasoning rather that the S/P and it gave extra flavor.
    May try cutting the salmon prior to cooking to shorten the time. Made it with rice, delicious!

  35. Ninelephants March 8, 2013 at 6:37 PM #

    I’m about to make this for my brother and I. I was wondering if you put the foil straight onto the racks in the oven or onto a cookie sheet first

    • Valerie March 9, 2013 at 10:46 AM #

      I think she says to put it on a cookie sheet… Unfortunately I didn’t have one so we used an extra layer of aluminum foil. It took longer to cook so I recommend using the sheet!

    • The Devil's Punchbowl March 9, 2013 at 10:48 AM #

      Yes, I used a cookie sheet. Hope it turned out well.

  36. Cent2378 March 8, 2013 at 10:38 PM #

    Just finished eating. It was a hit with everyone in the family. I used steelhead trourt which is very similar to salmon. After I took it out of the oven i didn’t open the pouch until I finished the side dishes and it was cooked perfectly. The juice of the lemon and butter was poured over the pieces I served. Mmm Mmm Good! :)

  37. Connie March 20, 2013 at 1:17 PM #

    When you are thawing frozen meat/shrimp/fish….leave it in original package or put in ziplock bag THEN submerge in water….this way you won’t lose flavor, moisture or nutrients

  38. Julie March 27, 2013 at 9:26 PM #

    So simple, and you’re right- very flavorful for the few ingredients. My husband and I ate it all! You got anymore equally simple recipes for other fish/meat? ;)

  39. jen April 3, 2013 at 11:08 PM #

    Out of curiosity… Would this recipe work with a thin chicken fillet?

  40. Rosaria April 8, 2013 at 10:05 PM #

    I believe what you published was very reasonable. But, what about
    this? what if you were to create a killer title? I mean,
    I don’t want to tell you how to run your website, but what if you added something that grabbed folk’s attention?

    I mean Salmon in a Bag | The Devil’s Punchbowl is kinda boring. You should glance at Yahoo’s home page
    and see how they create news headlines to get people interested.
    You might try adding a video or a pic or two to get readers interested about everything’ve written. In my opinion, it would make your website a little livelier.

  41. Leonardo May 19, 2013 at 6:29 AM #

    I like smoked salmon! This dish appears fashionable and mouth watering!
    five forks from me!

  42. Ashlee June 11, 2013 at 11:56 PM #

    I made this recipe and the salmon came out entirely too dry and not flavorful.. I would recommend making it in a skillet versus an oven.. A seared salmon taste much better to me

    • Alicia rice June 26, 2013 at 8:29 PM #

      You cooked it too long if it came out dry. I tried it and mine was perfect.

      • Stephanie December 2, 2013 at 6:42 PM #

        100% agree with that one. Made this recipe and it was delicious.

      • Jennifer December 6, 2013 at 7:23 PM #

        Did you remove the skin from the salmon?

  43. jane January 15, 2014 at 8:49 PM #

    Made the salmon tonight and it was wonderful! Your oven temp and time was perfect. We don’t care for overcooked salmon. I did drizzle a little balsamic vinaigrette over the salmon also and it was wonderful. Thanks for sharing! Delish!!

  44. Laura April 7, 2014 at 8:11 PM #

    Wow! I just made this (and I’m not one for cooking, mind you) and it is SO GOOD!! I made asparagus with garlic, butter, and lemon in another foil pouch and brown rice for side dishes. Thanks for this tasty, simple recipe! Definitely making it again!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fish in a Bag #2 « The Devil's Punchbowl - June 12, 2012

    [...] figure the only blog post I spent zero effort on went viral. Since this post generated a lot of interest I thought I would share another fish in a bag recipe I [...]

  2. Our Cornucopia: week one « 2 Girls. 2 Cats. 1 Big Apple. - June 14, 2012

    [...] thedevilspunchbowl.wordpress.com via Lissa on [...]

  3. To Eat « The Amateur Librarian - September 14, 2012

    [...] Source: The Devil’s Punchbowl [...]

  4. 50 Recipes Under 5 Ingredients | Cooking for Bros | @cookingforbros - November 17, 2012

    [...] Salmon in a Bag from The Devil’s Punchbowl [...]

  5. Lemon and Butter Salmon | BlushingJalbert - January 7, 2013

    [...] I adapted my salmon recipe from this one! [...]

  6. Root Beer and Pinterest. « Through the eyes of Joyous - January 29, 2013

    [...] experience in some way.  Thankfully, Kristen and crew love fish, so all is well.  I found the recipe on pinterest that was greatly re-pinned, so I decided to give it a shot.  Basically, the recipe was salmon on [...]

  7. Sunday Lazy Links » Double Shot of Whimsy - February 3, 2013

    [...] know, I’m trying eat healthier and improve my cooking skills. So, the other night I tried the salmon in tin foil recipe that’s seems so popular on Pinterest and I tried out cauliflower made like mashed potatoes. [...]

  8. Salmon in a Bag - Can Cook, Will Travel - March 30, 2013

    [...] (Recipe can be found on the site The Devil’s Punchbowl here.) [...]

  9. 25 Delicious Camping And Tin Foil Recipes | Roughing It - April 2, 2013

    [...] #24 Lemon Salmon Foil Dinner [...]

  10. Baked Salmon | intheiversonkitchen - May 14, 2013

    […] found this on Pinterest from The Devil’s Punchbowl & was excited to try it out. I did need to cook it slightly longer than stated, but that could […]

  11. Lemon Butter Salmon - May 20, 2013

    […] found this on Pinterest and thought it looked so easy that I decided to make it for our friends. They have children ages […]

  12. Salmon in a Bag | Do It And How - May 23, 2013

    […] Recipe HERE – make sure to read the article and comments for tips! […]

  13. Gretchen’s $50 Grocery Shopping Trip and Menu Plan | Money Saving Mom® - May 29, 2013

    […] Lemon Salmon, Steamed Broccoli […]

  14. Super Easy Lemon & Garlic Butter Salmon | Unwind The Grind - June 3, 2013

    […] technique which I learned off of Pinterest (from the site The Devil’s Punchbowl) is BY FAR the simplest it can get for anyone who works 8-10 hours a day and then has to come home […]

  15. Menu Monday | Living Laughing & Loving - June 10, 2013

    […] Lemon Butter Salmon via The Devil’s Punchbowl […]

  16. Lemon Herb Salmon | Garden Seeds and Honey Bees - June 20, 2013

    […] and more tips from thedevilspunchbowl and […]

  17. Salmon in a Bag | Francessssca - June 29, 2013

    […] See the original recipe here […]

  18. Tried and True Pinterest Cooking/Baking Gems | livesimplykmm - July 29, 2013

    […] Easy Baked Salmon […]

  19. DAY 16 | My Paleo Project - August 20, 2013

    […] (Picture from http://thedevilspunchbowl.wordpress.com/2012/05/03/drinking-coffee-at-8pm-fierce/) […]

  20. Have to start somewhere | Broccoli, Books, and BoozeBroccoli, Books, and Booze - February 3, 2014

    […] followed this easy recipe I found on […]

  21. Tin foil, lemon, salmon, butter – Wrap in foil and bake for 25 minutes at 350 °. Simple. | FOODIEZ-eatzFOODIEZ-eatz - February 10, 2014

    […] Source […]

  22. Baked Salmon | foxnboots - March 11, 2014

    […] Source recipe: http://thedevilspunchbowl.wordpress.com/2012/05/03/drinking-coffee-at-8pm-fierce/ […]

  23. LaughSmile » Blog Archive » 25 Delicious Camping And Tin Foil Recipes - March 30, 2014

    […] #24 Lemon Salmon Foil Dinner […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

