Salmon in a Bag

This was a last minute post which I didn’t spend as much time on as other posts on this blog  – hence the Diet Coke can in the background 😉 I didn’t anticipate the traffic this post has generated through Pinterest and I’ve received a lot of questions regarding the temperature I cooked this salmon at. Like all recipes on my blog, this was only a suggestion because it worked for me. A few people have suggested raising the temperature or cooking it longer and have shared their experiences in the comment section below.

Lay out a large piece of tin foil. Slice a lemon and lay flat on surface. Lay salmon on top of the lemons. Add butter, salt and pepper then wrap up the sides and fold tightly together, like a pouch. Place on a baking tray and cook in the oven for 30 minutes at 325° or 350° depending on how hot your oven runs.

Tilapia in a Bag is another great recipe to try if you enjoyed this method of cooking.

Cheers!

114 thoughts on “Salmon in a Bag

  1. I made this recipe and the salmon came out entirely too dry and not flavorful.. I would recommend making it in a skillet versus an oven.. A seared salmon taste much better to me

  2. Made the salmon tonight and it was wonderful! Your oven temp and time was perfect. We don’t care for overcooked salmon. I did drizzle a little balsamic vinaigrette over the salmon also and it was wonderful. Thanks for sharing! Delish!!

  3. Wow! I just made this (and I’m not one for cooking, mind you) and it is SO GOOD!! I made asparagus with garlic, butter, and lemon in another foil pouch and brown rice for side dishes. Thanks for this tasty, simple recipe! Definitely making it again!

  4. My fiancé just caught a few salmon and I used this recipe for filets today!! I put them at 350 for 45, and with our oven it was ABSOLUTELY perfect!!! The only other addition I used was instead of pepper I used McCormick’s lemon pepper. So delicious!!

  5. I’m trying to come up with ideas for my son who doesnt cook much. Could I assemble this and freeze? If yes should it thaw before baking? Thank you

  6. I made this last night and am having it again for lunch today! Very easy recipe which made it simple for salmon novices like myself. I added some balsamic vinegar which turned out great and I also coated the top with a pretty heavy layer of pepper. The pepper made it kind of crusty on top. 30 minutes was the perfect amount of time. The salmon was fully cooked and tender and flaky.

    Thanks for posting!

Leave a comment