Fish Fry, Two Ways

Where I come from, we eat a lot of fish, mainly Perch. My Uncle Bob is retired and goes fishing EVERY SINGLE DAY so we get that shit fresh. Naturally, everyone has their own way of cooking Perch but for me there is only one way – fish fry. If you’re lucky and don’t have to gut and clean the fish then this process is super quick and easy. Egg Wash + Coating + Deep Fry = Delicious.

photo1

Preparation:

Soak fish for a few minutes in an egg wash. My Aunt Linda uses, egg and milk. My father uses egg and water. When you’re ready to coat the fish, flip it in the egg wash a few times (don’t be a nerd, use your hands!) and transfer it to your plate of coating. My Aunt Linda uses Saltine Crackers that she runs through her food processor. My father uses Sylvia’s Fish Fry Mix or sometimes the Fried Chicken Mix. Dust off any excess coating and drop that shit in some hot ass oil.

Deep Fry:

My Uncle uses a modest deep fryer called,Β Fry DaddyΒ and my father uses a propane tank attached to an open flame burner like a lunatic. I recommend the Fry Daddy. Using Conola Oil and carefully following the instructions, deep fry small batches of Perch for 10 minutes and let sit on a bed of paper towel for 5 minutes. I also recommend doing this outdoors.

Garnish:

Sometimes I squeeze some fresh lemon on top or whip up some tartar sauce:

  • 1 Cup of Mayo
  • 3 Dill Pickles, chopped
  • 2 TBSP of Capers, chopped
  • Half of a Lemon, squeezed
  • S&P

You could also add:

  • Smoked paprika
  • Fresh dill
  • Parsley
  • Hot Sauce

Can we also talk about how cute my Aunt Linda’s Hens and Chicks are? Totally stealing this idea next year.

photo2

2 thoughts on “Fish Fry, Two Ways

Leave a Reply

