The Best Reuben Sandwich

photo (2)

I’ve mentioned before I consider myself quite the Reuben enthusiast, not the classiest of obsessions but definitely suitable. I’m surprised how little I’ve written about the almighty Reuben, but like most enthusiasts, I rarely find a notable Reuben that has met my aggressive standards. So naturally, I was surprised to find the best Reuben I’ve ever had in my own hometown, Wallaceburg Ontario.

Although we moved to an entirely different area when I was 8 years old, my mother, step-father and I frequently travelled back to visit my Grandparents and I, my father who has always resided in this area. My best memories live here, which is a kind of nostalgia that never escaped me. I’ve always called this place home. Luckily, my mother and step-father recently moved back so my visits are more common and I can finally appreciate in (my hesitating) adulthood the local cuisine. There isn’t a fancy restaurant to be seen, but that’s part of its charm. Everyone can cook and summer is abundant with local ingredients so cuisine might seem too posh a word for a place that’s characterized by its coveted simplicity.

Chez Denise Bistro & Café, is where I discovered this epic Reuben. It’s messy as hell and difficult to hold – exactly how I like it. But the surprising element is the homemade spinach dip they generously slather on huge portions of corned beef, sauerkraut and Swiss cheese. It’s greasy, it’s juicy – it makes you feel brazenly guilty for wanting another.

Chez Denise Bistro & Café, 153 Nelson, Wallaceburg, Ontario. 

One thought on “The Best Reuben Sandwich

Leave a Reply

