Pulled Pork (Mole) Tacos

I’m in a cooking rut. This happens frequently. Other than suggesting my friends cook for me/inviting myself over for dinner, I have no idea how I’ve been nourishing myself lately. I will never understand how parents or people in general prepare dinner every single night. Once upon a time, I was in a real life relationship and tried cooking every night but eventually served meals like grilled cheese and tomato soup – I just gave up. Being in a new relationship, I was way too ambitious by trying to present something new every night and burned out. There is also the possibility I just didn’t give a shit about the relationship any more.  So next time, I’ll stick to the favourites and prepare something new once in a while, like my mom did – it says, I care but would rather drink wine spritzers and watch Night Court.

Wesley made amazing pulled pork soft shell tacos last week when I invited myself over for dinner. What I found unique about her variation were the garnishes, specifically the cabbage soaked in apple cider vinegar. I don’t think I’ve expressed enough my love for pickled vegetables and also how much I cook with apple cider vinegar. Actually, I use (organic) ACV for everything like hair rinses. So naturally I was quite impressed with this combination.

Wesley’s Pulled Pork (Mole) Tacos

  • 2 pork tenderloins, cut into medallion
  • half yellow onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 cube semi-sweet chocolate
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tbs cumin
  • Small can crushed tomatoes

Sauté chopped onion and garlic, add chocolate, tomatoes and spices, bring to boil, then add pork and simmer on low for 2.5 hours. Soak red onions and cabbage in apple cider vinegar for 3 hours as garnish. Serve with wedges of lime.

Leave a Reply

