DIY Wall Art

18 Oct

Holy SHIT, Apartment Therapy featured my DIY Wall Art. Since then I’ve replaced that hideous couch and piece of shit IKEA pillow I tried to dye. In my defence, I had just moved in and was marginally poor.

The original idea was to paint geometric shapes directly on my wall but I decided to paint on plywood in case it didn’t work. The piece of wood cost $10 and I bought wall paint from Home Depot in small test jars which only cost $5 each. I freehanded the shapes with a ruler and lightened the base colours with white acrylic paint to give the illusion of folding planes.

Check out my new plywood headboard here. 

photo

2 Responses to “DIY Wall Art”

  1. nina August 11, 2014 at 12:47 PM #

    Do you have further directions or a guide on how to accomplish this?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY Headboard | The Devil's Punchbowl - April 15, 2015

    […] Painting on plywood is dirt cheap. An enormous board costs only $10 opposed to a canvas which would cost over a hundy. The board will slightly warp in dry temperatures but I’m not fussy when I’m skint and aesthetically pleased with the result. Another Skint Tip is to buy paint in test jars; they only cost $5.00 at Home Depot. They last longer when adding white acrylic paint (from the Dollar Store) to create different shades of the same colour, which I did on the piece in my living room. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

