Italian Jambalaya

I totally didn’t intend to make this but a major “food fail” actually worked in my favour. My friend Elvi, came over last night to sip wine and talk about our love of dumb dudes over a gluten free pasta meal. I didn’t have gluten free pasta like I thought I did (food fail) but luckily had (instant) whole grain rice – don’t judge me, I’ve never had enough endurance to cook rice for 30 minutes.

My father was visiting last month and brought me tomatoes from Kent County – I’ve mentioned these tomatoes before, they’re basically the shit. While he was visiting he also canned a batch of stewed tomatoes for me and I’ve been dying to try them. Along with the canned tomatoes I had spinach, shallots and smoked pancetta so I threw it all together and with the rice made an unintentional Italian Jambalaya. It was so good I’ve been craving it all day but had no leftovers, boo.

  • Half jar of stewed tomatoes or 1 can store bought
  • 1 Shallot
  • 1 Cup cubed smoked pancetta
  • 1 Large bunch of spinach
  • 2 TBSP Butter
  • Salt

Finely chop the shallot and sauté with 1 TBSP of butter or olive oil, I ran out. You could add a clove of garlic too; I guess I just didn’t think about it. Add pancetta and sauté for 3 – 4 minutes. Add spinach, moving it around the pan so all the leaves cook evenly. Add tomatoes, 1 TBSP of butter and simmer for 20 minutes. In a bowl, add rice and top with sauce.

Note: The smokiness of the pancetta really made this taste like Jambalaya. If you are going to use plain pancetta you might want to add some spices like paprika. 

One thought on “Italian Jambalaya

Leave a Reply

