Chicken Piccata

fullsizerender-2

The main challenge I endure while eating low carb is the absurd amount of meat I have to consume to feel satisfied. If I could survive on a Vegan, low-carb diet I would but I’m not into self-inflicting torment. That being said, I’m eating a lot of chicken so to make myself feel like a decent human being I buy local and organic – don’t hate, read some facts. I’ve been making Chicken Piccata for years and it never disappoints, even for people who have an aversion to capers. Capers are legit, get on it.

• 2 Chicken Breasts
• ½ Cup of Flour
• ½ Cup of White Wine (or chicken broth if you’re lame)
• ¼ Cup of Lemon Juice
• 1 TBSP of Capers
• 4 TBSP of Butter
• Olive Oil
• Salt and Pepper

Pound the shit out of the chicken breasts so they are flat and thin. Dredge them in flour and salt and pepper. Melt 2 TBSP of butter with a splash of olive oil in a pan and cook chicken 3 – 4 minutes per side. Remove chicken from pan. Melt remaining butter then add lemon, white wine and a pinch of flour. Scraping the bottom and sides of the pan, stir until desired thickness adding more flour if necessary. This is a very tangy sauce so if it’s too intense for you, add a splash of chicken broth. Throw in the capers and chicken, simmer for 5 minutes.

If you’re feeling fancy this pairs so well with my risotto. 

One thought on “Chicken Piccata

Leave a Reply

