Caramelised Shallots, Mushrooms and Halloumi Naan Pizza

I’m terrible at gift giving. I’m not an oracle and unless you communicate to me exactly what it is you desire I will spiral into a state of tumultuous anxiety while trying to predict what object I’m going to spend money on – money I probably don’t have because I live in Toronto and I’m single thus perpetually broke. But when someone tells me what they want the gift isn’t enough because now there is no element of surprise and I’m stuck searching for a second gift, then the cycle repeats itself. I know, I exhaust myself too.

Kevin’s birthday is around the corner and to prevent the above neurosis, I cooked him dinner.

  • 3 – 4 Pieces of naan
  • 3 Large shallots
  • 2 Portobello mushrooms
  • 6 Crimini mushrooms
  • 6 Slices of halloumi cheese
  • ½ Cup of REAL parmesan cheese
  • Olive oil
  • Butter
  • Oregano
  • S&P

Caramelise shallots by adding them to hot olive oil, stir and cook for at least 10 minutes until golden brown. Add a little pancake syrup if desired. I added brown sugar – they tasted like candy. Set aside. Cook sliced mushrooms in butter and set aside.

Brush naan with olive oil, scatter oregano, garlic and REAL Parmigiano-Reggiano. If you haven’t tasted real parmesan cheese and only use processed – please try it once. Processed parmesan tastes absolutely nothing like the real stuff. Arrange shallots, halloumi and mushrooms on naan. Bake for 10 minutes at 350 °

I also tricked Kevin into watering my house plant because I know how much he loves doing household things for me. Happy Birthday Kevin! I’m sorry your ass looks huge in this picture.

Leave a Reply

