Mini Smashed Potatoes

Everything in my last post was a lie. There is a mini market across the street from me that sells everything. There is a bakery too, I’m not sure how I didn’t notice. Also, people in my neighbourhood are so fucking nice it makes me sick. Jokes – skipping down the street smiling at complete strangers is a favourite pastime of mine.

Cooking for one is impossible unless you really love to cook, which I don’t. I’m actually not that talented in the kitchen but I love food and can’t afford to eat out. Last night Kevin came over to check out the new digs which gave me an opportunity to cook vegetables – I’m convinced he is malnourished only because he is a boy. I roasted eggplant, zucchini, red peppers and onions. I wanted to add portobello mushrooms to the mix but said mini market across the street priced them like they once breathed and adorned feathers. I roasted enough veg to feed myself for a few days. The trick to cooking for one, on a budget is to be creative with one ingredient that will last you a few days. So now that I have a fat bowl of veg in the fridge I can make heaps of meals, as long as I switch them up.

What I really wanted to share today were the mini smashed potato cakes I made avec dipping sauce:

Dip for French Fries

  • ½ cup mayo
  • ¼ cup ketchup – Try fancy ketchup. I used roasted red pepper ketchup.
  • ½ Tsps. white vinegar
  • Pinch of salt
  • Pinch of smoked paprika
Leave a Reply

