Panko and Rosemary Encrusted Chicken Cutlets

I’m currently getting rid of practically everything I own. I’m moving into my own apartment soon and have way too much stuff I don’t use, mostly kitchen supplies and bowls. My mother and I have an unexplainable obsession with bowls and bedding. Anyway, while riffling through boxes I had stored in the garage I came across an enormous meat mallet my father gave me a few years back. As stated below, I bought chicken for the first time in months; because it was on sale and because I’m poor. I’m half joking. I actually developed a brief aversion to poultry last year.

Panko Encrusted Chicken Cutlets w/ Rosemary

  • 3 boneless chicken breasts
  • 2 cups panko
  • 3 egg whites
  • Fresh Rosemary
  • Olive oil
Panko – Japanese bread crumbs made by passing an electric current through the dough. I don’t exactly know what that means but I can tell you the texture is crispy and airy and less dense than the Western breadcrumb.
 

Place plastic wrap over chicken breast and pound out some tension with a mallet. Cut the thin breasts in half. Dip the cutlet in a bowl of egg whites and then push it hard in a plate of panko and fresh rosemary to coat it. Heat about a centimetre of olive oil in a large frying pan and cook cutlets until browned.

Normal people cook chicken cutlets 3 mins per side but I’ve had food poisoning too many times to mention and am consequently distrustful when cooking meat. I double the time. You are going to fall in love with the way the fresh rosemary smells when you are overcooking your chicken.When cooked, place the cutlets on a baking rack for a few minutes in the oven to guarantee an ultimate crunchy experience when served. I enjoy them plain but a tangy tomato sauce is a classic pairing – think chicken parmesan.
 
Leave a Reply

