Lemon Chicken, White Bean and Spinach Soup

I don’t often buy chicken. I’m marginally poor. But when it’s on sale, I go to town. On Sunday, I made chicken cutlets, crusted with panko and fresh Rosemary. I had two raw breasts leftover and didn’t know what to do with them so I cut them up, threw the pieces in a container with olive oil, Club House Citrus Blast Seasoning and left it alone for two days in the fridge.

Originally, I intended to make Turkey Sausage Soup with Spinach and White Beans but those chicken pieces needed to be cooked and to my surprise, the chicken/spices gave this soup a serious punch in the face! The lemon flavor from the seasoning was subtle but tangy and packed more flavor than any other soup I’ve made.

Lemon Chicken, Spinach and White Bean Soup.

  • 2 boneless chicken breasts
  • 2 Tbsps. lemon, herb seasoning
  • 1 pkg frozen spinach
  • 1 can white beans
  • 2 – 3 cups chicken stalk
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • Fresh thyme
  • Olive oil
  • Butter
  • S&P to taste

I highly recommend marinating the chicken for a day or two. If you can’t, don’t freak out 20 minutes will do. Panfry chicken with butter and a splash of olive oil until brown. When it’s cooked take the pieces out of the pan. In the same pan, sauté garlic in more butter, add rosemary, white beans, spinach, (chopped) chicken, chicken broth and simmer for 20 minutes.

I wince at the sight of carbs but a handful of tiny star pasta (stelle) or pearls (pastina) would look adorable in this. Serve with freshly shaved Parmigiano-Reggiano on top and garlic toast or croutons.

One thought on “Lemon Chicken, White Bean and Spinach Soup

Leave a Reply

