Simple Tomato Sauce for Fresh Pasta

Now that my PHD has subsided, I have to deal with SAD. It’s inevitable, especially in Canada, to emotionally feel the dejection of winter months. How do I deal with SAD? Booze and carbs. Kevin came over with a case of Corona, giving me an excuse to cook so I took the opportunity to make homemade fazzoletti, AKA handkerchief pasta.

I’ve never understood why people put so many ingredients in their pasta sauce. Stewed tomatoes pack incredible flavour and stands bold on its own. If I were to make meatballs though, I would make an entirely different sauce. This recipe is simple; best enjoyed over fresh pasta and/or meat such as panko crusted chicken.

Tomato Sauce

  • 1 jar of homemade stewed tomatoes. Or 1 LRG can of store bought tomatoes.
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic
  • Half an onion
  • Fresh Basil
  • Salt
  • Confidence

Sauté garlic and chopped onions in olive oil. Add tomatoes, salt and simmer for 20 – 30 minutes. Add Basil at the very end. If I have time, I take the sauce off heat and let sit for 30 more minutes to get its shit together. Reheat before serving.

Leave a Reply

