Liquor? I don’t even like her…..

I drink a considerable amount of wine, beer and the occasional cider. But I’ve never had a penchant for hard alcohol. While visiting the LCBO on Friday I abruptly had a craving for a cherry inspired cocktail. I’m guessing this derived from a cocktail recipe I recently clipped out of the Globe and Mail. This recipe called for Grey Goose but because I think vodka is a bitter, used up whore exacting revenge from years of persecution, I sauntered to the whiskey section.

While perusing the aisle, I actually had to call a friend, who was (unsurprisingly) shocked I didn’t know what was in a whiskey sour nor did I know what bourbon was. I then came across Red Stag, black cherry infused bourbon by Jim Beam – Jamie loved it.

Whiskey Sourish:

  • 2 ounces Red Stag
  • 1 TBSP Simple Syrup
  • 1 ½ Lemons, juiced
  • 3 Maraschino Cherries – one cherry is skimpy.

Shake together Red Stag, simple syrup, lemon juice and ice. Pour over ice and maraschino cherries. Garnish with a lemon wedge on a toothpick or don’t.

Leave a Reply

