My Risotto

I haven’t been cooking at all. There are various motives that contributed to this lag: being lazy, being single and concentrating my focus on other creative outlets, specifically writing. But as the winter months roll in the cold air inevitably evokes inspiration to create warm, hardy dishes and of course, holiday traditions and feasts.

It took me years to perfect my risotto recipe. As an only child, I lack modesty. But I guarantee you this recipe will never fail you – if you have patience. The trick to successful risotto is: NEVER leave its side. Constantly stirring it, make sure you have at least 20 minutes to dedicate your full attention to it. Like anything you have put time into and nurtured, the more attention you give risotto, the better it will taste – I take this shit seriously.

I serve it plain with a side dish smothered in a rich, savory sauce such as chicken piccata or mussels in a zesty tomato sauce. On Sunday, I made the usual tomato/white wine mussels but added a pinch of smoked paprika which is my current obsession. TIP: A pinch of smoked paprika in egg salad sammies gives that old, tired classic a serious punch in the face.

  • 2 Cups Arborio Rice
  • 4 Cups Chicken Stalk
  • 3 Shallots
  • REAL Parmesan Cheese
  • Butter
  • Olive Oil
  • 1 Cup White wine (optional, but I wouldn’t chance it)

Keep the chicken stock warm in a separate pot. In a deep, medium sized pot, sauté shallots in a splash of olive oil and 2 Tbsp. of butter (I never said this was healthy) Add the rice and stir it until all the grains are coated with butter and translucent. Add in white wine and stir constantly until the rice has absorbed it. This is the trick to good risotto – add in one or two ladles of chicken stalk at a time and stir! You want the rice to absorb as much stalk as it can before adding more. Repeat this until you have reached the desired texture of grain and creaminess of the dish.
Stir in at least 1 Cup of REAL parmesan cheese.

Serve immediately.

One thought on “My Risotto

Leave a Reply

