My Mojito

I planted a little, sweet and innocent mint plant in my garden. Two years later it took over half my herb garden. Not wanting to cut back its fragrant and wild nature, I needed to get creative. I started early in June trying to perfect My Mojito. My guests were never disappointed, especially in August when after many variations of this cocktail, I perfected it. There are three rules to a perfect mojito: keep it simple, make individual cocktails and don’t recycle! Fresh lime and mint in every refill is an absolute must.

There are also tools that are imperative when making the perfect mojito. One is a muddler. The other is a lime squeezer – which is not included in this picture because I broke it late August.

  • 2 – 3 Limes – depends on how fresh they are
  • Hand full of fresh Mint
  • 1 TBSP Sugar
  • 1 ½ ounces of Rum
  • Club Soda
  • Ice

In a tall glass, add mint. Squeeze two limes – if you don’t have a lime squeezer, tongs work amazingly – Just try it. Add sugar, rum and muddle the ingredients for a healthy 30 seconds. Add ice, club soda, a few slices of fresh lime and serve as cold as possible.

Leave a Reply

